Bang Bang Cauliflower

 An all time favorite appetizer of ours is the Bang Bang Shrimp from Bonefish Grill.  If you don’t know what I am talking about, then do yourself a huge favor the next time you roll by a Bonefish, stop in for a drink (which are usually awesome!) and order the shrimp.  I have not met a single person who has disliked the bang bang.

BoneFish Grill's Bang Bang Shrimp

After making a batch of shrimp for a recent luau party, I had a lot of leftover sauce that I couldn’t let go to waste.  What to put it on we pondered?  That head of cauliflower being neglected in the back of the fridge?

“Who… me?”

Yes you , you big, beautiful, white, brain-looking, hunk of anti cancer phyto-chemical nutrition you!

Chopped up the Cauliflower into fairly small, uniform florets.  I believe Bonefish deep fries their shrimp, which I had thought about doing, but didn’t feel like making a big mess with the breading and the grease.  So I sauteed the cauliflower in a little bit of olive oil in a large wok until nice and golden.  Then I folded in the sauce to coat the florets.

Voilà!

For the sauce:   You will find a lot of recipes floating around on the web, some with honey, some with peanut butter, some with soy, some with sriracha.  The main ingredients are basically just a mix of mayo and sweet chili sauce (Mae Ploy).  Experiment on your own to see what you dig on!

Posted on January 24, 2012, in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. There was no such thing as bang-bang cauliflower on the internet until I wrote this post. Trust me, I searched the hell out of it at the time (to see if I really was the only one who had created this) and found NOTHING. Now…there are tons. Thanks to all you bloggers whole stole my Bang Bang Cauliflower idea and did NOT give credit to me. You are all awesome!

Leave a Reply

